BREAKING: Tajudeen Abass Crosses Winning Margin, Becomes Speaker Of House Of Reps

Share this:

At the ongoing House of Representatives’ inauguration, the anointed candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Tajudeen Abbas, has crossed the winning margin in the ongoing election for the Speaker.

After a roll-call of members-elect, 359 out of 360 members are participating in the process.

There are three contestants in the race, with the winner expected to defeat the others by a simple majority.

Tajudeen Abass from Kaduna State is the candidate of the All Progressives Congress and the presidency while other contenders are Ahmed Idris Wase and Aminu Sani Jaji who are also members of the APC.

A significant majority of the members-elect have “openly declared” their votes for Abbas.

Abbas is on the verge of defeating his opponents: outgoing Deputy Speaker, Ahmed Wase, and Sani Jaji, who have one and two votes, respectively, so far.

Earlier, Muktar Betara, Yusuf Adamu Gagdi, Miriam Onuoha, and Sada Soli: aspirants for the Speakership all stepped down for the APC consensus candidate.

The inauguration is taking place in the improvised meeting rooms that the defunct 9th House had been using as Chamber due to the ongoing renovation of the National Assembly complex.

Share this:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.