Speaker names chairs, deputies of House committees

Share this:

Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas, on Thursday announced the heads and deputy heads of various committees in the lower chamber.

Mt Abbas named Joseph Bassey (APC, Cross Rivers) as the chairman of the Committee on Emergency and Disaster Management and Bashir Usman (PDP, Sokoto) would be his deputy.

The Aids and Debt management Committee is to be headed by Abubakar Nalaraban (APC Nasarawa) and assisted by Lanre Okundola (APC Lagos), while the Appropriation Committee would be chaired by Abubakar Bichi, with Ituh Igaruwe (Ebonyi PDP) as the deputy.

Benjamin Kalu (Abia) was announced as the chairman of the Committee on Constitutional Review, and Julius Ihobere would be his deputy.

For the Committee on House Services, Amos Daniel (Kaduna) was named chairman while Isiah Lalong was appointed deputy. For Public Petitions, Mark Itaba was named chair and Adamu Ibrahim Gamawa as deputy; and Muhammed Abdullahi chairs Hydrological Services, with Apo Paul as his deputy.

The speaker announced Aliyu Ibrahim Al-Mustapha as chairman of Committee on Alternative Education and Akinnusi Olatunji as deputy; Agricultural Production and Services- Bello Kaoje (chairman), Kelechi Nwowu (deputy); Works- Akin Alabi (chairman), Usman Banye (deputy); Niger Delta Development- Ibori Suenu (chairman), Jafuru Leku (deputy); Local Content- Boma Goodday (chairman), Seyi Sewuni (deputy); and National Planning and Economic Development- Isiaka Ibrahim (chairman), Clem Jimbo (deputy).

For Food and Drug Administration and Control- Regina Akume (chairman), Emeka Iduh Godwin (deputy); University Education- Abubakar Fulatan (chairman), Etteh Ipom (deputy); and Land Transport- Blessing Onuh (chairman), Fayinka Oluwatoyin (deputy); and Legislative Committee on Legislative Compliance- Yusuf Badu (chairman), Maureen Chinwe (deputy); FCT Judiciary- David Zacharias (chairman), Ibe Osonwa (deputy); Committee on Finance-James Faleke (chairman), Seidu Musa Abdullahi (deputy).

Also announced were: Committee on Commerce- Ahmed Munir (chairman), Barika (deputy); Information Technology- Stanley Olaide (chairman),Jinkin Rufai (deputy); Agric Colleges and Institution- Akin Adeyemi (chairman), Idris Samar (deputy); Judiciary- Wale Oke (chairman), Muhammed Danjuma (deputy); Delegated legislation- Femi Bamisile (chairman), Okafor Dominic (deputy); Ecological Fund- Aminu Jaji (chairman),Oyedeji Oyesina (deputy); FCT Committee- Mugabe Terah (chairman), Chinese Nneka Martins (deputy); Federal Road Safety Maintenance Agency- Remi Oseni (chairman), Sodiq Ango Abdullahi (deputy); Committee on Power- Victor Nwokolo (chairman), Joshua Gana (deputy); and Maritime Education; and Administration- Khadija Bukar (chairman), Uduak Odudoh (deputy).

Others were North-East Development Commission- Usman Zana (chairman), Kabiru Yusuf (deputy); Public Accounts- Bamidele Salami (chairman), J.J Umaru (deputy); Committee on Federal Character- Ahmed Wase (chairman), Adebayo Adepoju (deputy); Committee on Air Force- Alasa Orurum (chairman), Rufus Ojewu (deputy); Aviation- Abdullahi Grace Garba (chairman), Festus Akinpaso (deputy); Communication- Ita Akpatusen (chairman), Balani Usman (deputy); Custom and Excise- Leke Adejide (chairman), Shehu Hassan Oseni (deputy)

Defence- Jimi Benson (chairman), Ahmed Galamawa (deputy); Electoral Matters- Bayo Balogun (chairman), Adamu Yakubu (deputy); Foreign Affairs- Abdulmuminin Jibrin (chairman), Tijjani Zacharias (deputy); Grass Resources- Nicholas Mutu (chairman), Mustapha Tijjani Gali (deputy); Health Institutions- Amos Magaji (chair), Adesola Adedayo (deputy); Healthcare Services- Yusuf Zununu (chair), Basi Akiba (deputy); and Interior- Aminu Chindu (chair).

Share this:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.