Ministerial Nomination: INEC Announces Bye-Elections Into Four Vacant National Assembly Seats

Share this:

The lawmakers were nominated for ministers by President Bola Tinubu.

No fewer than four bye-elections will be conducted into National Assembly as the seats have been declared vacant by the lawmakers, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said.

The lawmakers were nominated for ministers by President Bola Tinubu.

This was contained in the speech of the Chairman of the commission, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu at the 2023 Post Election Review meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) in Lagos State.

He explained that the four bye-elections would be conducted to fill the vacant seats by two Senators and two members of the House of Representatives, nominated for ministerial posts from their states.

According to the report, in all, INEC now have eight bye-elections, adding that the elections would also provide it the opportunity to keep test-running some of the suggestions and recommendations made at the post-election meeting with stakeholders.

“This is also another opportunity for us to conduct credible elections because so far, we have four vacancies declared in the forthcoming bye-elections at state levels.

“These are Surulere I Constituency in Lagos State, Jalingo Yaransi Constituency in Taraba, Chibok State Constituency in Borno and Chifun State Constituency in Kaduna State.

“Also, there are four National Assembly seats recently declared vacant arising from the screening of the ministerial nominees that is ongoing at the national assembly.

“This is due to the two senators and two members of the house of representatives who have been nominated as ministers by the president,” the statement added.

Share this:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.