Philip Shaibu storms PDP Headquarters, demands certificate of return

Share this:

The Deputy Governor of Edo State, Philip Shaibu has arrived the National Secretariat of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), insisting to be given his certification of return.

According to him, “today is the day set aside for the collection of certificate of return for the winner of the primary. I understand someone came yesterday and was given, well, the court will decide…”

See photos:

WhatsApp Image 2024 02 28 at 12.33.28 PM 1

However, recall that two candidates (Philip Shaibu and Asue Ighodalo) emerged as 2024 Edo governorship candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) after parallel primaries were conducted in the state on February 22, 2023.

Shaibu was declared the winner with 301 votes while Ighodalo in another primary that was held at the Samuel Ogbemudia won with 577 votes.

WhatsApp Image 2024 02 28 at 12.33.28 PM

Shaibu was declared the PDP’s candidate by a group of delegates who met in a building on Commercial Avenue while some delegates were being accredited at the Edo Hotel Marquee in order to go to the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium venue of the primary election.

They stated that after entering the venue to obtain accreditation, security personnel escorted them out.

They added that they observed names of Bayelsa State residents and All Progressives Congress members on the list of delegates that the party’s national leadership had released, alleging that it was not the real one.

Declaring Shaibu winner of the election, Bartholomew Moses said, “During the counting of this primary election, Philip Shaibu has a score of 301 votes and therefore, we hereby declare Philip Shaibu as the authentic elected candidate for this election in the PDP.”

READ ALSO:  NNPC Reacts After Their Twitter Handle Shockingly Predicts Tinubu’s Running Mate

On the other hand, the governorship primary committee, led by Zamfara State Governor, Dauda Lawal, said a total of 594 delegates were elected to participate in the primary, while 585 delegates were accredited to vote.


INEC releases 2023 general elections report

Announcing the final votes, Lawal, the Chief Returning Officer for the governorship primary as well as the chairman of the committee primary, said Asue Ighodalo scored 577 votes, while his closest rival Philip Shaibu scored one vote.

He said Anselm Ojezua, Osaro Onaiwu, Felix Akhabue, Martins Uhomoibhi,, Hadizat Umoru, Arthur Esele scored zero votes, while Omoregie Ogbeide-Ihama and Omosede Igbinedion withdrew from the race.

He said six votes were voided.

Share this:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.